When you register a site as a development site on WPML.org, a banner displays on both the site’s front-end and backend, showing that the site is in development. When you move your site to production in WPML, it becomes live and accessible to your site’s visitors, and the banner disappears. Apart from this difference, you get the same automated updates and can use all of WPML’s features.
Your WPML account type determines how many production and development sites you can register. You can register up to 3 times the number of development sites, which are mainly for staging or testing purposes. All of these development sites display a banner on both the front-end and backend to indicate their development status.
For example, with the WPML Multilingual CMS account type, you can register 3 production sites. This also means that you can register up to 9 separate development sites for your staging, development, and testing needs.
No, you cannot use your development site quota for production sites. When you register WPML using a development site key, a banner displays on the site’s front-end and backend indicating it’s a development site. This banner only disappears when you move your site to production on WPML.org.
Absolutely. After moving from development to production on WPML.org, you can translate any new content and edit existing ones. When you move your site to production, you don’t lose any existing translations.
Yes, you can unregister WPML from your site to free up the site key from a site you no longer need. After that, you can register a new site to your WPML account.