Please make sure to update to WPML 4.3.6 and check our list of Known Issues before reporting

This is the technical support forum for WPML - the multilingual WordPress plugin.

Everyone can read, but only WPML clients can post here. WPML team is replying on the forum 6 days per week, 22 hours per day.

This topic contains 22 replies, has 2 voices.

Last updated by Shekhar Bhandari 1 month ago.

Assigned support staff: Shekhar Bhandari.

Author Posts
December 11, 2019 at 7:29 am #5104191

alexandruN-4

Hello,

Im a developer currently working on this website and i encounter a problem regarding having /en and /fr in the link.

We have a multisite installation with different websites. The main website is :

hidden link

The website im encountering the problem is

hidden link

The problem that i encounter is, i've set up a lang.php file so the default language (english) will show up in the url, that works fine. But my client wants to remove the /blog part from the website URL so it wont be in anyway linked to the blog website (hidden link). So i went to the network settings and altered the website URL from /blog/quiz/ to /quiz/. Everything works fine this way, but when i try to access a quiz(custom post type), i get tons of 301 redirects untill the browser gives up (err too many redirects).

Any ideea how can i fix this ? If i set up the language to show as a get parameter in the link, the website works fine, but if the language is part of the URL, this gets broken.

I've talked with the system administrator there because i thought this was a server redirect error but he confirmed that wordpress forces these 301 redirects.

Thanks and have a great day !

December 11, 2019 at 8:12 am #5104319

alexandruN-4