This is the technical support forum for WPML - the multilingual WordPress plugin.

Everyone can read, but only WPML clients can post here. WPML team is replying on the forum 6 days per week, 22 hours per day.

Tagged: 

This topic contains 4 replies, has 2 voices.

Last updated by emilM-2 4 months, 3 weeks ago.

Assigned support staff: Bigul.

Author Posts
May 27, 2019 at 11:42 am #3896563

emilM-2

I'm a developer doing a custom theme for a client.

Everything was great during development, yet with the client's content there seem to be serious performance issues.

The following query takes 170 seconds to complete (there are about 160 terms in 2 languages):

```sql
SELECT
tra.term_taxonomy_id AS translated_id,
IFNULL(corr.term_id, 0) AS correct_parent
FROM
wp_term_taxonomy org
JOIN wp_icl_translations iclo ON
org.term_taxonomy_id = iclo.element_id AND iclo.element_type = CONCAT('tax_', org.taxonomy)
JOIN wp_icl_translations iclt ON
iclt.trid = iclo.trid AND iclt.language_code != iclo.language_code
JOIN wp_term_taxonomy tra ON
tra.term_taxonomy_id = iclt.element_id
LEFT JOIN wp_term_taxonomy parents ON
parents.term_id = org.parent
LEFT JOIN wp_icl_translations parent_lang ON
parents.term_taxonomy_id = parent_lang.element_id AND parent_lang.element_type = CONCAT('tax_', parents.taxonomy)
LEFT JOIN wp_icl_translations iclc ON
iclc.language_code = iclt.language_code AND parent_lang.trid = iclc.trid
LEFT JOIN wp_term_taxonomy corr ON
corr.term_taxonomy_id = iclc.element_id
WHERE
org.taxonomy IN('custom_taxonomy_name') AND IFNULL(corr.term_id, 0) != tra.parent AND iclo.language_code = 'en'
```

This gets executed when I try to update a custom post type entry and assign a new term to it. Unfortunately PHP's max execution time maxes out and the server returns a 5XX error.

I'm not even sure what this query tries to accomplish but it not allowing my clients to use their site with the content they have on a live environment.

May 27, 2019 at 6:07 pm #3900161

Bigul
Supporter