This is the technical support forum for WPML - the multilingual WordPress plugin.

Everyone can read, but only WPML clients can post here. WPML team is replying on the forum 6 days per week, 22 hours per day.

This topic contains 5 replies, has 2 voices.

Last updated by Marcel 2 months, 1 week ago.

Assigned support staff: Marcel.

Author Posts
July 30, 2019 at 1:13 pm

Max

I know this question has been asked many times (maybe it's time to make it more user friendly):

I have 3 languages set up.
When I delete media in one language, the file is not deleted from the server, but it seems like the translation entries for the media file are deleted, as the media doesn't show up in the media manager when I change the language.

I have already checked the option "When deleting a post, delete translations as well", but files still stay on the server.

Please help me solve this issue.

I don't need any translation options for media.
I just want my media to be available and show up in all languages.

July 30, 2019 at 3:41 pm #4309353

Marcel
Supporter

Languages: English (English ) German (Deutsch )

Timezone: Europe/Madrid (GMT+02:00)

Hallo Max,

Vielen Dank, dass Sie den WPML Support kontaktiert haben.

Wir haben dazu einen Eintrag in unserer Errata: https://wpml.org/errata/media-files-are-not-deleted-when-the-option-when-deleting-a-post-delete-translations-as-well-is-active/

Es gibt somit bereits einen Task im Backlog um das Problem zu beheben. Der Workaround is folgender: Die Checkbox nicht anhacken, sondern abhaken:

  • "While our developers launch a new version which fixes this issue, go to WPML > Settings page, scroll to Posts and pages synchronization section and uncheck the When deleting a post, delete translations as well option."
  • Freundliche Grüße
    Marcel

    August 1, 2019 at 6:11 am #4318967

    Max

    Danke. Das entfernen der Option hat nun dazu gefuehert, dass die Datei vom Server geloescht wird, nachdem ich Sie in allen drei Sprachen geloescht habe. Wie kann ich es umsetzen, dass die Datei vom Server geloescht wird, wenn ich Sie in einer Sprache loesche?

    August 2, 2019 at 9:47 am #4328693

    Marcel
    Supporter

    Languages: English (English ) German (Deutsch )

    Timezone: Europe/Madrid (GMT+02:00)

    Hallo Max,

    ich kann nicht ganz folgen. Sie meinen, dass die Datei gelöscht wird, in nur einer Sprache? Also z.B. nur in Englisch?

    Freundliche Grüße
    Marcel

    August 5, 2019 at 6:14 am #4338087

    Max

    Die Datei wird erst vom Server geloescht, wenn ich sie in allen drei Sprachen loesche.
    Ich moechte aber, dass die Datei vom Server und in allen Sprachen geloescht wird, wenn ich sie in einer Sprache loesche.

    August 5, 2019 at 2:27 pm #4341309

    Marcel
    Supporter

    Languages: English (English ) German (Deutsch )

    Timezone: Europe/Madrid (GMT+02:00)

    Hallo Max,

    vielen Dank für die Info. Hierzu haben wir leider keinen Workaround. Hier müssen Sie leider warten, bis das Problem im Core behoben wurde.

    Freundliche Grüße
    Marcel