Please make sure to update to WPML to the latest and check our list of Known Issues before reporting

This is the technical support forum for WPML - the multilingual WordPress plugin.

Everyone can read, but only WPML clients can post here. WPML team is replying on the forum 6 days per week, 22 hours per day.

This topic contains 8 replies, has 2 voices.

Last updated by Julie 6 years, 5 months ago.

Assigned support staff: Andreas Neuber.

Author Posts
September 9, 2013 at 7:21 pm #219423

Julie

Hi,

I'm working on a multilingual site which requires access to two different French versions, one for France and the other for Quebec. I have already added fr_FR as a language, but how do I go about adding a fr_CA locale? Do I need to create a .mo file? I have tried to add the language to the list, but as you will see in the printscreen, it gives me an error message. I am a wordpress beginner, I have researched the matter already, but haven't been able to understand the solutions proposed to others. I'd appreciate getting some help with the issue.

thanks in advance.

September 9, 2013 at 7:33 pm #219432

Julie

I forgot to put the screenshot!

September 10, 2013 at 7:03 am #219542

Andreas Neuber
Supporter

Languages: English (English ) German (Deutsch )

Hello Julie,

You were definitely on the right track.
This is the place to add new self-defined languages.

# What we see on the screenshot is what appeared after entering the "fr_CA" language and hitting the the "Sauvegarder" button?

# What was the English name for the "fr_CA" language ?

Thanks!

September 10, 2013 at 12:36 pm #252305

Julie

hello Andreas,

Yes what you see in the first printscreen is what appeared after entering the info and hitting the "sauvegarder" button.
Here is another printscreen showing you exactly what I tried to enter. Should have I created an .mo file beforehand? I don't think I quite understand yet what that file does.