This is the technical support forum for WPML - the multilingual WordPress plugin.

Everyone can read, but only WPML clients can post here. WPML team is replying on the forum 6 days per week, 22 hours per day.

Please make sure to update to WPML to the latest and check our list of Known Issues before reporting

This topic contains 5 replies, has 2 voices.

Last updated by Marcos Vinicios Barreto 17 hours, 27 minutes ago.

Assigned support staff: Marcos Vinicios Barreto.

Author Posts
March 23, 2020 at 10:46 pm #5746293

ivanS-43

I am new to this field, so I am sorry in advance if I ask you stupid questions... My website is completely new, without any installation, using wordpress.
I need help from you, to check what is possible to do with your plugin, and how to do that correctly.

OK. My website is about car rental. And it will have 2 languages: English as a default language and Russian.
It will have 8 countries where is possible car rental. So I want to organize those countries to be subfolders (subdirectories) so every subfolder will have its own WordPress installation, so I can create specific pages under every country.

For language Url format I want to choose "Different languages in directories".

1) So, now I will explain to you what I would like my website should look, and you tell me is this possible:

example.com - (root page) where I can choose a language.
example.com/en/ - English homepage
example.com/ru/ - Russian homepage

Subfolder for first country (Montenegro):
I will create subfolder "car-rental-montenegro". Now I need to translate this subfolder to Russian language. Can my website look like this?

example.com/en/car-rental-montenegro/ - for English language
example.com/ru/arenda-avto-cherngoriya/ - translation of this subfolder on Russian language

It this possible to do with Wpml? Or it needs to be :
example.com/en/montenegro/ - for English language
example.com/ru/montenegro/ - translation of this subfolder on Russian language