This is the technical support forum for WPML - the multilingual WordPress plugin.

Everyone can read, but only WPML clients can post here. WPML team is replying on the forum 6 days per week, 22 hours per day.

This topic contains 5 replies, has 2 voices.

Last updated by Konrad Karpieszuk 5 years ago.

Assigned support staff: Konrad Karpieszuk.

Author Posts
September 25, 2014 at 8:20 am #479312

Régis

Hi guys,
I'm facing a problem since I have many websites running WP, WPML and WooCommerce with thousands of products.

Each year, I have to deal with catalog updates :
- create new products,
- delete cancelled products,
- add variations on existing products,
- remove variations on existing products,
- change attributes on existing products

I've been doing this for 2 years "manually", just using an import tool to import, at least, new products. But for all other tasks, I'm doing this by myself...

And what brings me here, to complicate thing, these websites are multilingual...

So can you indicate me :
1 - what is the best way to import products with both initial language and translations
2 - what is the best way to update existing translations on existing products

Note: my problem is not necessarily linked to woocommerce since I might have the same problem on a regular website with only post, pages or even custom post types...

Note2 : Products infos for updates are in XLS or CSV file but if there is a better solution, I can definitively change my process!

Thanks in advance!

September 25, 2014 at 10:50 am #479472

Konrad Karpieszuk
Supporter

Languages: English (English )

Timezone: Europe/Rome (GMT+02:00)

Hello Régis

My name is Konrad and I will try to help you with this.

Unfortunatelly I am affraid that this will not be easy or even possible.

But lets try: please tell me: are your shops exactly similar if you compare them looking on products?