This is the technical support forum for WPML - the multilingual WordPress plugin.

Everyone can read, but only WPML clients can post here. WPML team is replying on the forum 6 days per week, 22 hours per day.

This topic contains 23 replies, has 4 voices.

Last updated by sarah.n 5 years, 9 months ago.

Assigned support staff: sarah.n.

Author Posts
November 28, 2013 at 9:53 am #299209

OlivierL

Hi there

I installed few weeks ago WPML Media on my client website and run it with the default settings.
That created a duplicate for each language of the 1364 photos of the website. This has created lots of issues with photos not displaying on pages. I'd like to reverse the process and delete all duplicate photos of the media library keeping only English but I need to do that in one-go not by selecting for each page of 20 photos and use the delete permanently function.

How can I do that? maybe from somewhere on the server? I'm not a web designer, just an SEO consultant and marketing manager for these people.

Thanks by advance for your help,
Olivier

PS- here is a picture of the status of the library
hidden link

November 28, 2013 at 11:48 am #299316

Andreas Neuber
Supporter

Languages: English (English ) German (Deutsch )

Hello Eric,

Feel free to open an additional ticket for the original problem with the photos (if you not done already).
Let talk to our developers about this.

"Media duplication" means basically that extra database records were added in tables "wp_posts" and "wp_postmeta".
If these records are removed the "duplication" is gone.

November 28, 2013 at 1:27 pm #299397

OlivierL

Hi Andrea

As I said i'm not a web designer, I found the "wp-posts" and "wp-postmeta" in the database but is there a way to easily identify these records for one language and remove them? because the amount of records is huge and I want to make sure I only remove the right ones, not the english ones which need to remain.

Thanks by advance for your help. I appreciate.