This is the technical support forum for WPML - the multilingual WordPress plugin.

Everyone can read, but only WPML clients can post here. WPML team is replying on the forum 6 days per week, 22 hours per day.

This topic contains 3 replies, has 2 voices.

Last updated by Raja Mohammed 3 months, 2 weeks ago.

Assigned support staff: Raja Mohammed.

Author Posts
April 1, 2019 at 6:59 pm #3511089

joannaP

This is in regards to this WordPress Multisite: hidden link

We manually added translated content to this page:
Japanese Example Page:
hidden link

English Version: hidden link

We saved the page and saw the translations. The next day we clicked the "Check status and get translations" button within the Translations Management dashboard.
After that was done, all the manual translations disappeared. It looks as though WPML is overwriting all manual translations that we are making and we don't know why?

1.) Can we get this content back? If so, how?
2.) Why did this happen and how can we prevent this from happening in the future?

If there isn't an easy fix for this, can we schedule another screen share call please?
Thank you

April 2, 2019 at 9:19 am #3515281

Raja Mohammed
Supporter

Languages: English (English )

Timezone: Asia/Kolkata (GMT+05:30)

Hello there,

Welcome to the forum,

The "Check status and get translations" button will only appear when there is a pending or in progress remote translation from any translation service. Once you have clicked the button the translations will be overwritten from the remote service regardless of the current state of translation.

Since you already had manually translated the content there is a possibility to retrieve it from the revision.

Secure a backup of your site and database don't skip this step

- From your WordPress dashboard change the language from the top bar to which you want
to restore the translations

- Goto Pages -> Select a page to edit

- On the right panel under the Public Widget, there is an option to browse through the previous version of the page. Browse through the revision you would be able to restore the version of your choice.

it's similar to restoring the pages as mentioned in the below link only difference is you have to choose the language from the top ribbon

Reference : hidden link

I hope this helps, Let me know if you need further assistance.

Kind regards
Raja

April 2, 2019 at 7:01 pm #3520203

joannaP

Hi Raja,

Thank you for the information on how to restore the content.

My fear is that this will happen again. Do you know why this happened and what we can do to prevent this from happening again?
Because if we manually update 50 pages and our manual entries get wiped out again, going back to each page and reverting back to another revision seems inefficient.
So what can we do to prevent this from happening again?

April 3, 2019 at 5:33 am #3522675

Raja Mohammed
Supporter

Languages: English (English )

Timezone: Asia/Kolkata (GMT+05:30)

Hi,

The issue happened because You might have already sent the translation to a translator and at the same time, you have manually translated the pages by yourself.

This is a scenario where 2 translation of the same post is created.

The button "Check status and get translations" will display if there is an ongoing translation that needs to be synced with the content. Once click that button the already translated manual content will be erased.

The way to prevent this is to use either Manual translation or Translation service and don't mix both.

If you prefer to send the translation to a translator make sure the job is completed 100% and synced before you change to manual translation mode.

Let me know if anything is unclear.

Kind regards
Raja