This is the technical support forum for WPML - the multilingual WordPress plugin.

Everyone can read, but only WPML clients can post here. WPML team is replying on the forum 6 days per week, 22 hours per day.

This topic contains 14 replies, has 3 voices.

Last updated by Andrés 12 months ago.

Assigned support staff: Andrés.

Author Posts
October 9, 2018 at 7:20 pm #2801757

wayneC-3

I have a site that's built primarily using ACF fields for content—one column, two column, etc.—and does not utilize the standard editor in any way. I set all of the appropriate ACF fields to translate, and exported the pages to send to a translation service. They sent back a ZIP file that I imported, which created the new pages in Chinese as it should, but there were no ACF fields on the new pages, so there was no place for the content to populate.

I guess my question is that since I'm completely new to this process, how exactly is content exported/imported and how can I ensure the appropriate fields are exported, and the content is imported correctly moving forward?

Thanks.

October 10, 2018 at 1:37 pm #2804475

Diego Pereira
Supporter

Languages: English (English ) Spanish (Español ) Portuguese (Brazil) (Português )

Timezone: America/Sao_Paulo (GMT-03:00)

Hello @waynec-3, welcome to the WPML support Forum!

You need to set these custom fields as "translatable". Please try the following:
- Go to the edit screen of the page (default language)
- Scroll down to "Multilingual Content Setup"
- Set the custom fields as "Translatable"
- Click on "Apply"
- Do a small modification on the page content (and on some of the custom fields)
- Click on "Update"

After that the custom fields should be displayed on the tranlation editor.

Please let me know if it worked for you.

All the best,
Diego

October 10, 2018 at 4:39 pm #2805216

wayneC-3