This is the technical support forum for WPML - the multilingual WordPress plugin.

Everyone can read, but only WPML clients can post here. WPML team is replying on the forum 6 days per week, 22 hours per day.

This topic contains 47 replies, has 3 voices.

Last updated by Andrey 1 year, 6 months ago.

Assigned support staff: Andrey.

Author Posts
January 13, 2018 at 12:09 am #1483594

berryP-2

I am trying to: show the sidebar

Link to a page where the issue can be seen: not publicly available yet, server is being built now

I expected to see: a sidebar

Instead, I got: an empty string.

Disclosure: I am using a custom Twig template. To show the sidebar I add Timber::get_widgets( 'sidebar_primary' ) to $context['sidebar'] in functions.php which is thus loaded on each page. As explained here: hidden link

Yet when it's returned, it's empty. I also var dumped it on the line after it was initialized, still empty.

Please understand, I'm not a noob and I have been a developer for about 10 years, so please skip the default questions.
- yes wordpress is on the latest version
- yes wpml is on the latest version as are all other plugins.

I have worked with Timber and WPML several times, but I have never encountered anything like this.

I have been building on this website for little over a year. I have created several custom widgets which are shown under conditions on several pages. It was debugged as hell and it worked perfectly, until I bought WPML 2 days ago and installed it. Since then all sorts of unexpected things happen.

The weirdest thing is the sidebar returning as empty. In the back-end all my widgets are initialized (see screenshot), no errors are shown in php error log and in console I also can't find a single indication (if it was to be a js error, which I doubt).

As soon as I deactivate WPML the sidebar is back.