This is the technical support forum for WPML - the multilingual WordPress plugin.

Everyone can read, but only WPML clients can post here. WPML team is replying on the forum 6 days per week, 22 hours per day.

This topic contains 31 replies, has 2 voices.

Last updated by garyA-7 1 month, 2 weeks ago.

Assigned support staff: Mihai Apetrei.

Author Posts
August 10, 2019 at 12:38 pm #4375333

garyA-7

Hi, I'm new to WPML and I have adequate knowledge of WordPress, but this is my first time setting up a website in two different languages. Admittedly I have little to zero knowledge of coding and CSS and HTML, etc. I am using the Colorlib free theme, Pixova Lite and I was told by Colorlib that this theme is compatible with WPML. I can see how to translate pages, but it is not obvious how I can translate the contents of the homepage. These details are originally set up by going to > Appearance > Customise. I need to set up the site so the homepage appears in both English and Portuguese. Is it possible to do this? Is there something I'm missing or do I need someone with advanced web development knowledge to do this? I was originally working with a developer to assist me with this website, but he has abandoned the project and I am now left trying to finish the site myself. Thank you.

August 10, 2019 at 8:29 pm #4375931

Mihai Apetrei
Supporter

Languages: English (English )

Timezone: Europe/Bucharest (GMT+03:00)

Hi and thank you for contacting WPML Support!

I will be happy to help you with this.

The way to translate those strings really depends on how they have been implemented in the code.

1. Can you please let me know if you tried to go to WPML > String Translation and search for any of the words in those sentences?

Here is some very helpful documentation on how to use the String Translation plugin:
https://wpml.org/documentation/getting-started-guide/string-translation/