It is common to use several separate sites as a part of the development process. You can have several copies of your web site from which you can send out content to be translated.

When sending a job for translation the job details are entered into your database. You can pick up translation only from sites which have that job in their database. Therefore you must be careful about sending a job for translation from the right copy of your site.

Let us take a look at one possible scenario:

  • We have a website called “Live” and we duplicate it to a site called “Develop”.
  • We send “Page 1” for translation from the “Live” site.
  • Now, we create another duplicate of the “Live” site and call it “Test”.
  • From the “Develop” site, we send “Page 2” for translation.
  • From the “Test” site, we send “Page 3” to be translated.

Which content is delivered to a specific site depends on translation delivery method. We can use automatic or manual delivery of translations. Automatic delivery works only for the original (i.e. “Live”) site where we first activated the translation service. On other site copies, we can only fetch translations manually.

If we have automatic translation delivery enabled the following will happen:

  • The “Live” site has no record of “Page 2” and “Page 3” being sent for translation. Only the translation of “Page 1” will be accepted and applied to the “Live” site.

If we fetch the translations manually situation would be the following:

  • The “Live” site will only receive the translation for “Page 1,”. At the same time, the “Develop” site will get a translation for “Page 2” and the “Test” site will get translations for “Page 1” and “Page 3”.
  • The “Develop” site was created before “Page 1” was sent for translation, so it is not possible to get a translation for it.
  • The “Test” site was created after “Page 1” was sent for translation, so it has a record of that action.