Skip Navigation
Updated
October 11, 2021

The Advanced Translation Editor does not share a translation memory with the Classic Translation Editor or professional translation services. However, it is occasionally still possible to view translations from other sources in the Advanced Translation Editor. This makes it easier to switch translation editors without re-translating all your content.

If you have previously translated your site using the Classic Translation Editor or a professional translation service, we recommend continuing to use those translation methods. This is because switching to a different translation method usually requires you to re-translate your content because they don’t share a translation memory.

However, if you do choose to switch to using the Advanced Translation Editor, it includes a feature that makes it occasionally possible to view previous translations from other sources. This allows you to copy and paste the old translations rather than translating them again from scratch.

Activating the Advanced Translation Editor

If you previously used a professional translation service, you can deactivate it by going to WPMLTranslation Management and clicking the Translators tab. Click Deactivate to disconnect from their service. Be sure to set up yourself or another person to be a translator on your site.

Deactivating a translation service

If you previously used either the Classic Translation Editor or a professional translation service to translate your content, go to WPMLSettings and choose the Advanced Translation Editor for both new and old translations.

Selecting the Advanced Translation Editor for both new and old content

Updating Translations Using the Advanced Translation Editor

After editing your content, send the updated page for translation.

When you or your translator opens the translation job, it will open in the Advanced Translation Editor.  It might look as if you need to retranslate the whole page. Click the translation icon below the translation window to view previous translations from other sources:

Page previously translated by a professional translation service. The translation fields are blank when opening it in the Advanced Translation Editor.

A dialog with previous translations will pop-up. To use these translations, simply copy and paste the text into the appropriate translation fields. These will then be saved in the Advanced Translation Editor’s translation memory for future use.

Displaying previous translations

Switching Back to Using a Professional Translation Service

If you use a professional translation service in the future after adding or editing translations within the Advanced Translation Editor, these changes will be lost, and the translation service will need to retranslated any content not previously translated by them. This is because their translation memory only saves what has been translated through their service. This may add to your translation expenses.