Skip Navigation
Updated
November 16, 2021

You can use the same automatic translation account for all your sites, including sub-sites in the same multisite setup. Connecting multiple sites under the same automatic translation account shares their translation memory, glossary, and word quota.

To connect your sites, follow these four steps:

  1. Create an automatic translation account on one of your sites
  2. Copy the migration code from the site you want to connect
  3. Enter the migration code onto the site with the automatic translation account
  4. Choose what to do with the translation memory and glossary of the site you’re connecting

Create an Automatic Translation Account on One of Your Sites (If You Haven’t Done So Already)

In order to connect your sites, one of the sites must have an automatic translation account. This is the site where you will be able to view your invoices and manage your payments.

If you don’t already have an active automatic translation account on this site, sign up for one:

  1. Go to WPMLTranslation Management.
  2. Click the Automatic Translation tab.
  3. Click Sign up for free and add your payment information.
Creating an automatic translation account
Creating an automatic translation account

Copy the Migration Code From the Site You Want to Connect

Next, you need to get the unique migration code from the other sites you want to connect. To get the migration code, follow these steps on the site that does NOT have an automatic translation account:

  1. Go to WPMLTranslation Management and click the Automatic Translation tab.
  2. Click Settings and expand the Connected sites menu.
  3. Click Copy Migration Code.
Copying the migration code to share another site’s automatic translation quota

Enter the Migration Code Onto the Site With the Automatic Translation Account

Now that you have copied the migration code, log back into the site with your automatic translation account and follow these steps to finish connecting your site:

  1. Go to WPMLTranslation Management.
  2. Click the Automatic Translation tab.
  3. Click Payment & Settings and expand the Connected sites dropdown.
  4. Click Connect other site and paste the migration code you copied from your secondary site.
Entering another site’s migration code

Choose What to Do With the Translation Memory and Glossary of the Site You’re Connecting

Each site makes its own translation memory and glossary. When you connect sites under the same automatic translation account, the connected sites can share their translation memories and glossaries with each other.

When connecting or disconnecting a site, you have an opportunity to choose what to do with your site’s translation memory and glossary. This is important if your site was previously connected with other sites under a different automatic translation account.

Options for handling the translation memory and glossary of the site you’re connecting
  • Move – Removes your site’s associated translation memory and glossary from any previously connected sites and shares them with the newly connected sites.
  • Nothing – Does not share your site’s translation memory or glossary with the newly connected sites. Only the old connected sites can continue to use them.

Unable to Connect Sites?

In some cases, the system might prevent you from connecting sites. Here are a couple of reasons why this might happen.

You Cannot Merge Sites That Both Have Active Accounts

If both sites have active, separate accounts for automatic translation you need to:

  1. Cancel the account on one of these two sites.
  2. Wait for the charge to be triggered for the canceled account (usually takes about an hour).
  3. Pay final invoice for the canceled account.
  4. Get the migration code from the site with the canceled account and enter it into the site with the still active account.

You Cannot Connect Sites That Have Debt On the Automatic Translation Account

If a site has an unpaid invoice you will have to pay it before being able to connect the site to another.

How to Disconnect Sites

You can disconnect sites that have been linked together from any site that shares the same automatic translation account.

  1. Go to WPMLTranslation Management and click the Translation Tools tab.
  2. Click Payment & Settings and expand the Connected sites dropdown.
  3. Click the trash or unlink icon next to the site you would like to disconnect.
Disconnecting sites that share an automatic translation quota

Just like when connecting a site, you can choose what to do with the site’s translation memory and glossary:

  • Move – Removes your site’s associated translation memory and glossary from the connected sites.
  • Nothing – Leaves the site’s associated translation memory and glossary with the previously connected sites and restarts your site’s translation memory and glossary from scratch.
Choosing what to do with your site’s translation memory and glossary when disconnecting your site