If your site’s URL changes as a result of either copying or moving your site, it has implications for your WPML site key and some features of the Advanced Translation Editor. WPML walks you through how to set this up correctly.
WPML automatically detects when your site’s URL changes. It proactively asks if your site has moved or if it’s a copy of your site. This is necessary, for instance, if you have done one of the following:
- Migrated the site to a new domain
- Moved a site from a development URL to a production URL
- Used a duplicator plugin to create a testing environment
- Used a demo site prepared by Toolset
Specifying if your site has moved or if it’s a copy ensures that the Advanced Translation Editor knows what to do with pending translations, translation memory, and existing URLs and permalinks.
When your site has moved
If your site has moved:
- Nothing will change on your end.
- Your site’s translation memory and pending translations will remain as they are.
- The Advanced Translation Editor will update your site’s permalinks to the new URL.
- If you moved your site from development to production, you need to update your site key.
When you are using a copy of your site
If the site is a copy:
- WPML will treat it as a new site. This means you need to register it.
- Any pending translation jobs will be canceled.
- If you had an automatic translation account on your original site, you will need a new account for this new site or link it to an existing automatic translation account.
Note: Your copied site will keep your existing translation memory, but it will not continue to share the translation memory with the original site unless you link it with your existing automatic translation account.