What happens: You install a site at a URL you previously registered with WPML. If you reuse the same site key you used before, any credits you previously assigned to that URL from WPML.org won’t be visible on the site.
How to prevent it from happening in the future: Always register a new WPML install with a new site key.
Migrating a Site
If you migrate a site to a new URL, you have the option to specify if you copied or moved the site. What you choose can affect your automatic translation credits.
Selecting the Copy Option
What happens: When you choose this option, WPML assumes you are still using the automatic translation credits on the original URL and does not transfer them to the new URL. If you actually moved the site and aren’t still using the old URL, this can make it look like your credits are missing from the new URL.
How to prevent it from happening in the future: Only select the copy option if you are still using both sites. If you migrate your site to a new URL and won’t be using the old URL, select the move option instead.
Migrating a Site to a URL that Already Has Credits Assigned
What happens: Migrating a site to a URL that already has credits assigned does not combine the credits assigned to both URLs. Instead, you only see the number of credits that were assigned to the URL you just migrated. Any credits belonging to the other URL are overwritten.
For example, if you assigned credits to Site A and Site B, then migrated Site B to Site A’s URL, only the credits originally assigned to Site B remain.
How to prevent it from happening in the future: Before migrating a site, connect the two sites together to share automatic translation credits. This way, all the credits belong to the same pool that either site has access to.
How to fix it: You can reconnect the site anytime to share those credits again. Or, if you don’t want those sites to share credits, you can remove credits from the shared sites and assign them to the disconnected site.
How to prevent it from happening in the future: Only connect sites that you feel comfortable sharing automatic translation credits, translation memory, and glossary between.
Deleting a Site
Removing a Site’s Registration from WPML.org
What happens: You can delete sites from your list of registered sites from your WPML.org account. If you delete a site that still has credits assigned, those credits will remain on the site. You won’t be able to transfer them back to your WPML.org account or add any new credits.
How to fix it:Re-register your site to be able to add or remove credits from your site. If you are unable to, for instance because you no longer have access to the site, contact our support team for help.
How to prevent it from happening in the future: You should always have a valid site key for sites using WPML. This prevents any issues with credits, as well as protects your site from breaking changes in future WordPress releases. We do not recommend deleting a site from your list of registered sites unless you are no longer using WPML on it.
Deleting a Site From Your Server
What happens: You delete your website from your server and any credits that were assigned to that site will no longer be available. Even if the site registration remains in your WPML.org account, WPML will not be able to communicate with your site to send the credits back to your account.
How to fix it: Recreate the site from a backup to retrieve the credits, or contact support for assistance.