Skip Navigation
Originally written
October 21, 2019
Updated
September 1, 2020

Connecting multiple sites under the same automatic translation account shares their translation memory, glossary, and word quota.

To connect and manage sites connected to your automatic translation account:

  1. Go to WPML → Translation Management
  2. Click the Translation Tools tab
  3. If you don’t have an automatic translation account on this site, scroll down to Copy Migration Code.
    Copying the migration code
    Copying the migration code to share another site’s automatic translation quota
  4. If you do have an automatic translation account on this site, click Payment & Settings and expand the Connected sites dropdown
  5. Here, you’ll see two options: Copy migration code, and Enter connection key of another site.
  6. Entering another site's connection key
    Entering another site’s connection key

It’s important to understand how the merging of sites works:

  • You need to choose which site will be the “main” one. This is the site that has an active automatic translation account that you want to use for all sites.
  • When connecting two sites, you get a code your site and paste it into the “main” site.
  • In other words, you merged one site into the “main” one and you can merge many sites into the “main” one.

When you’re ready, simply follow the user interface to connect or disconnect your other websites to the “main” one.

Unable to connect sites?

In some cases, the system might prevent you from connecting sites. Here is a list of rules that should help you understand when and why you cannot connect sites.

You cannot merge sites that both have active accounts

If both sites have active, separate accounts for automatic translation you need to:

  1. Cancel the account on one of these two sites.
  2. Wait for the charge to be triggered for the canceled account (usually takes about an hour).
  3. Pay final invoice for the canceled account.
  4. Get the connection code from the site with the canceled account and enter it into the site with the still active account.

You cannot connect two “main” sites

You cannot connect add a “main” site to another one.

For example, you have three sites that are not connected: site A, B, and C. You can first connect any two of these sites. Let’s say you connect sites A and B, where A is the “main” site. After this, you can add site C to the main site A, but you cannot do it the other way around. You cannot add a “main” site A to another site, in this case, site C.

You cannot connect sites that have debt on the automatic translation account

If a site has an unpaid invoice you will have to pay it before being able to connect the site to another.

Disconnecting sites

Because connected sites share translation memory, glossary, and word quota, you need to be mindful of potential issues when disconnecting sites.

Disconnecting a secondary site

If you disconnect a secondary site, that site will lose access to the shared word quota, glossary, and translation memory.

Disconnecting a main site

If you disconnect the main site, your secondary sites will continue sharing a translation memory and glossary, but they will no longer have access to any words to use for translation. The main site will not be able to access the translation memory or glossary.