If you have several websites, you can remove a site from your machine translation quota and transfer it to someone else. You can also merge other sites with your account. This allows you to share purchased words on multiple websites.

New sites that begin using WPML’s Advanced Translation Editor receive a free amount of machine translation. If you are using WPML on more than one site, machine translation usage for any of the sites will count toward this amount.

To manage sites that are connected to your account, navigate to WPML -> Settings page and, in the How to translate posts and pages section, click the Manage translators’ access link.

Manage sites that are connected to your account
Manage sites that are connected to your account

A web page for managing your translators and websites will open. Click on the Websites tab at the top of the page. Depending on the number of websites associated with your account, two possible scenarios exist, as described in the next sections.

How to share purchased words on multiple websites

For each site on which you use Advanced Translation Editor, you have a certain quota of words that you can translate. If needed, you can obtain an additional word quota for any site, but you can use it only on the site from which you have purchased it.

If you want to use words from a quota on your other site, you must merge it with your account. These two sites will then share the same word quota. If you do not want to share the quota with that website, simply detach it from your account.

Account with one website

If you have several websites and on each of these websites you have purchased words using different Advanced Translation Editor accounts, you can merge the accounts.

For example, you might already have two sites with separate accounts that have some unused word quota. Merging those two accounts will allow you to share everything across the two accounts, including word quota. In addition, if you later create another site, you can also merge it with your existing account. This will allow you to use any remaining words from your quota on any of your sites.

Link another website with your account
Link another website with your account

As displayed in the above image, if you have only one website associated with your account, you can:

  • Add another website that also uses Advanced Translation Editor with this account.
  • View information that allows you to merge this with another account.
  • Merge other accounts with this one.

To link another website to your current account, obtain the Migration code from that site and paste it into the Paste migration code field.

Account with more websites

If you are an agency or are developing websites for others, most likely you have purchased a large translation quota. After you transfer a finished website to a client, having that client continue to use your word quota is unnecessary.

Instead, a client can create their own Advanced Translation Editor account. You can detach the site from your account, and the client can then attach it to their own (new) account.

Acount with more than one website linked to it
Acount with more than one website linked to it

As displayed in the above image, if you have more than one website linked to your account you can:

  • Detach a website from the current account.
  • Obtain a migration code for a website.
  • Add another website that also uses Advanced Translation Editor to this account.
  • Merge other accounts with this one.

To detach a website from your account, click the Detach button on that site.

If you want to link a website to another account, click the Show migration code button and copy the displayed code. Then, navigate to your other site and paste the copied code into the Paste migration code field.

If you want to merge another site with the current one, enter that site’s ownership code into the Paste ownership code field.